Here’s the ruling on the bizarre ninth-inning play
If you’re confused about what happened in the bottom of the ninth tonight when Mariners left fielder Carlos Peguero didn’t come up with a diving catch on a ball hit by Ryan Ludwick, you’re not alone. The Padres got all crazy on the basepaths with Jason Bartlett returning to first, then getting pushed toward second by Ludwick, with Bartlett initially being called out at second.
But once the umpires determined the two runners had made contact, Ludwick was out — which took the force out at second away. And since the Mariners never tagged Bartlett, he was safe at second.
Here’s the official explanation from crew chief Tim McClelland:
“On the second to last play of the game, Ryan Ludwick was out for passing the runner (rule 7.08h), after which the play was not dead and the force out at second base was off, resulting in Jason Bartlett being safe at second base since he was not tagged out.”
Had this been a one-run game, that play would have been huge. Instead, reliever Chris Ray wound up getting out of a situation created initially on a booted ground ball by shortstop Brendan Ryan.
So the Mariners made it a bit more interesting than necessary, but bottom line, Erik Bedard was sensational for eight innings and Peguero made a great catch at the wall and a just-as-great throw to get a double play in the seventh.
Good stuff for the Mariners, who have gotten themselves back on track — and somehow back into the AL West race, just 2 1/2 back of front-running Texas — with a chance to make up more ground now with Michael Pineda and Felix Hernandez on the mound the next two days at Petco Park.