Ichiro’s Gold Glove streak coming to an end

Ichiro will see his string of 10 straight Gold Glove awards end this season. (Getty Images/Brandon Wade)

Ichiro’s record-tying string of 10 American League Gold Glove awards will come to an end when the 2011 winners are announced Tuesdayat 7 p.m. on ESPN2.

Ichiro, who shares the AL record of 10 straight Gold Gloves with Ken Griffey Jr. and Al Kaline, was not among the three right-field finalists nominated for the award in this year’s new format.

The 37-year-old outfielder had by far his worst defensive season by UZR metrics, so it shouldn’t be a huge surprise that he won’t win a Gold Glove for the first time since coming to the Major Leagues in 2001.

The three right fielders selected as finalists are Nick Markakis of the Orioles, Torii Hunter of the Angels and Jeff Francoeur of the Royals.

No Mariners were among the three finalists at any position. Center fielder Franklin Gutierrez won his first Gold Glove in 2010, but only played 92 games this past season in a season curtailed by illness and injury.

Brendan Ryan was generally recognized as the Mariners best defender,  but shortstop is a position filled with top glove men. Derek Jeter, the perennial AL winner, wasn’t nominated this season. The three shortstops on the AL ballot are Erick Aybar of the Angels, J.J. Hardy for the Orioles and Asdrubal Cabrera of the Indians.

The Mariners have had at least one Gold Glove winner every season since 1987, a streak that will end Monday along with Ichiro’s.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: