Romero recalled as Luetge sent back to Tacoma

Rookie outfielder Stefen Romero was recalled from Triple-A Tacoma by the Mariners on Thursday and will travel with the team to Anaheim for Friday’s series opener to start the second half of the season.

Left-handed reliever Lucas Luetge was optioned back to Triple-A to make room on the 25-man roster.

Romero, 25, hit .283 with three home runs and nine RBIs in 11 games for Tacoma after being sent down on June 29. He hit .196 with 11 extra-base hits, including three home runs, and 11 RBIs in 51 games for Seattle to start the season.

Luetge, 27, was recalled from Tacoma on July 10 to give the Mariners an extra reliever in their all-bullpen start against the Twins. He pitched one scoreless inning in that day’s 4-2 loss to the Twins, but didn’t appear in the weekend series against the A’s.

Luetge has been with the Mariners on three different stints this season and has a 5.40 ERA in 3 1/3 innings over four games. He’s 3-1 with two saves and a 3.40 ERA in 26 outings with Tacoma.

Romero provides a right-handed hitting outfielder for a club that has been shy in that department since designating Cole Gillespie for assignment on July 4. The only full-time outfielders on the club since then have been left-handed hitting Dustin Ackley, James Jones, Endy Chavez and Michael Saunders, who is now on the 15-day disabled list with an oblique injury.

The Mariners also announced they’ve transferred the rehab assignment of right-hander pitcher Blake Beavan from Class-A High Desert to Tacoma. Beavan has been out since mid-April with a shoulder injury, but made one two-inning start for High Desert last week.

2 Comments

Greg, in Friday’s game Iwakuma was charged with 2 ER. The first run was scored because the ball was knocked out of Zunino’s glove on the play at the plate. Otherwise, the runner would have been out. Zunino was charged with the error. How come the scorecard counts the run as an earned run?

The error that was charged to Zunino wasn’t for allowing the run to score, but for allowing Freese to advance to third (he’d stopped at second on the RBI double, but moved up when the ball got away from Zunino). The scorer thus didn’t rule the first run unearned. Then the second run wasn’t unearned either because Freese would have wound up scoring with or without Zunino’s error allowing him to move to third on the previous play.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

%d bloggers like this: